“I met Lindsey when I was a senior in high school and he was a junior, and we sang a song together at some after-school function. Two years later, in 1968, he called me and asked me if I wanted to be in a rock & roll band. I had been playing guitar and singing pretty much totally folk-oriented stuff. So I joined the band, and within a couple of weeks we were opening for really big shows like  Jefferson Airplane and Janis Joplin. All of a sudden I was in rock & roll, said Stevie Nicks.

After playing together in the band “Fritz”, Stevie Nicks & Lindsay Buckingham were able to score a record contract from Polydor records. The attractive, bare-chested, ultra-1970s pair on the front probably received a decent amount of money to sign their contract and cut the record. And while it’s hard to tell from their look what the group’s sound is (singer-songwriter folk? shaggy glam? Hall & Oates-style blue-eyed soul?).Image result for images of lindsey buckingham and stevie nicks

In the original edition of The Rolling Stone Record Guide, critic John Milward gives the album two stars out of five, and dismisses it as, “pleasant, albeit middleweight Los Angeles folk-rock.. Nevertheless, Buckingham Nicks sold poorly, generated no hit singles, and was quickly dumped into the Dollar Bins, forcing the duo to take day jobs while they contemplated whether they should continue to pursue careers in the music business.

“We had some great demos. We shopped around. Over a period of time we got a record deal  and made our first album, Buckingham Nicks. We had a taste of the big time. We had great musicians in a big, grand studio. We were happening. Things were going our way. But up until that point I had been thinking of quitting it all and going back to school because I was sick of being miserable and I hate being poor.”

I guess it was about September 1974, I was home at my dad and mom’s house in Phoenix, and my father said, ‘You know, I think that maybe … you really put a lot of time into this [her singing career], maybe you should give this six more months, and if you want to go back to school, we’ll pay for it … Lindsey and I went up to Aspen, and we went to somebody’s incredible house, and they had a piano, and I had my guitar with me, and I went into their living room, looking out over the incredible, like, Aspen sky way, and I wrote Landslide … three months later, Mick Fleetwood called.”

After the departure of Peter Green and Bob Welch, Fleetwood Mac had relocated to Los Angeles,  and the band’s future was in flux. While trying to determine their next move, Mick Fleetwood ran into an acquaintance who was doing PR for a new recording studio called Sound City. He invited Fleetwood to check it out, and while there, played the drummer an album he was producing for a boyfriend/girlfriend duo called Buckingham Nicks.

This was the first time Fleetwood laid eyes on Stevie Nicks, a “fetching waif of a girl” then working as a waitress in a 1920’s flapper-themed restaurant, and her boyfriend Lindsey Buckingham, a self-taught guitar wiz who crafted deceptively complex songs for his girlfriend to sing. Buckingham had got a gig touring with the Everly Brother.

Fleetwood invited Lindsey Buckingham and Stevie Nicks to join. The rest is history. Buckingham and Nicks contributed to much of Fleetwood Mac’s later commercial success, including the celebrated album Rumours, its predecessor Fleetwood Mac, and many albums to come.

They married briefly but never particularly got along very well, and their relationship while in the group was a cool at best. However, they were able to write and sing some beautiful music together.

Leave a Reply

